Those Early Weekday Mornings

I’d be the first one to admit to sleeping in late as a result of being a night owl and horrendous sleeping patterns. But recently I’ve had the pleasure of getting up at 6:30am to commute work at 8:00am. Strangely enough, this was not the most shocking change that crept up upon me due to my schedule change.

The idea of summer’s humidity combined with the sun rising earlier and earlier everyday sounds far from pleasant on weekends. I like to think the summer sun takes pleasure in breaking our perfected winter sleep cycles:

5:00am – The daylight starts creeping in your room.

5:25am – You open your eyes slightly to peek at the alarm.

5:35am – You realize it’s too late. 

5:45am – It’s over.

5:55am – You’re already awake.

6:07am – You debate getting up to make breakfast.

6:23am – You’re too lazy and decide to stay in bed.

6:30am – Time to get out of bed. You curse at the daylight despite buckets of downpour.

On another note, I enjoy being up early quite a bit… just not the process of waking up. I now read the early morning news updates and listen to the radio while consuming my oatmeal. Ha. Did I also mention that I never appreciated quick oats before? I sure do now.

In addition to all the exciting news updates, I’ve found myself catching some oddball morning exercise programs on TV (I suppose they’re aiming for their target audience to be more of the elderly providing the age of the hosts) but nonetheless something I was not aware of before last week. Might I say that it makes me wonder if I had the motivation of a snail? These elderly people inspire me.

6:53am – Nah, probably not inspired enough to actually start working out daily.

So in the end I resort to watching more cat videos. Admittedly, Sad Cat Diary has been a favourite recently and I quote “This may be my last entry” –watch for reference.

But hey, doing this for 5 mornings in a row can be pretty tough wouldn’t you say? Those early mornings create such opposing emotions. From rolling off the wrong side of the bed, to not being able to find the better half of favourite socks, witnessing the magic of quick oats, feeling motivated –and not. The best part about those early weekday mornings compared to those early weekend mornings is not having to aimlessly frolick around the house until lunch time.

Let us embrace those early weekday mornings and the summer light that never lets us sleep.

— itsfruitcakeweather.

Leave a Reply

