Give Yourself Permission

Photo Source

If you have writer’s block, give yourself a chance today. Give yourself permission to produce work that isn’t your best. Enough with the advice that suggests that we should never openly show work that isn’t our best. How else will our growth be recognized? Some of us have never been editors by nature but that’s alright –we can all learn to be. Love the flow of words instead of being caught up in the fluidity of which they sound together initially.

Hate and criticism comes in the form of silence as well. Just as you thought you’d be able to save yourself from hurt and judgement for expressing your thoughts in writing by stopping, the same people can still criticize you for remaining in silence. Don’t let them forget the beauty of your words.

There is no reason to hide the fact that you’re afraid.

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.” ― Ambrose Redmoon

And aren’t we so often told to embrace the struggle? If you take out the sugarcoating you’ll realize there is no heavenly bittersweet moment experienced until the struggle transforms your writing for the better. It’s the enlightenment that allows us to appreciate the struggle and motivates us to subject ourselves to it over and over again. But hey, even your dream job has its own little downers.

Your voice is as original as it gets when it comes to writing. What you’ve developed through continuously reading, writing and even imitating your favourite writers will become the basis of your growth. You will discover opposing ideas and conflicting voices that make you just that different. Just original.

Back your ideas up with a story. Shared ideas are not owned by individuals, stories on the other hand are.  Put a twist on the idea and make it your own story. Realization of the story is the most difficult part.

Regardless of whether the  ideas conveyed through your stories are agreed or disagreed upon at the end of the day, you voice will grow stronger. As for the people you’ve reach? Your voice has allowed them to learn more about themselves –love it or hate it.

— itsfruitcakeweather.

14 thoughts on “Give Yourself Permission

  1. I love it! I’ve been experiencing some writer’s block lately and it’s difficult to find sources of inspiration in the day-to-day clutter of life. Whether it’s new work or finishing the unfinished, I can’t seem to jump back into the flow of it. I think you’re right. I need to post the good AND the bad. Get ready everyone; here come some terrible words by Steven.

  2. This post is good, but more than that, it’s completely true. I see things I’ve said to friends before and things I should have heard a long time ago. Thank you for posting this!

  3. This was just what I needed. I’ve been working up the courage to get back to writing and am falling in love with the characters and plots I’ve long abandoned. Thank you for these timely words of wisdom. 🙂

  4. After reading this post, I understand completely why you were the first to “like” my post on doing one thing every day that scares you. I’m glad you found me, so that I could come here and find out about you. You sound like a wise young lady! Good luck to you and your blog. You certainly have the courage it takes! 🙂

  5. This is all so true. The first draft is the hardest part of writing for me, but I’ve learned to just get something, anything, down on the paper. I can always go back and make it better later. That’s what editing is for. I also love the quote. I’ll keep it by my computer.

Leave a Reply

